Miracles and Moments

Have you experienced a miracle – large or small?  Have you seen an angel? Have you had a near-death experience?

I’ve had people tell me about miracles (big and small), angel encounters, and near-death experiences in private, but rarely in public. I’ve had some of them say to me, “You know, I don’t tell everybody this…”,  and I always wonder why. Are they just waiting for the right moment to share it with the right person?  I guess it would be awkward to blurt something like that out at every company picnic, birthday party, and shopping excursion.

I’m not judging.  I am simply curious as to why they don’t share it with everyone. What are their reasons?

I find, even in religious circles, that some people don’t believe miracles happen today. Many people say, “Oh that all went away when Jesus died, miracles don’t happen anymore –  at least not the way you’re talking about – no angels or anything like that.”  Other people chalk those experiences up to brain-chemistry, implied possible drug usage,  insanity, or some other ‘scientific reason’.

I don’t think miracles, near-death experiences, or angel encounters are that easily explained.

I think miracles  do occur everyday.  I’ve had way more than my share. (After all, I didn’t deserve any of them.)   I am, however, extremely grateful and amazed at the power of our God. When I think back on them, I am always so humbled.

My belief about miracles is nicely summed up by the following quote:

Anyone who doesn’t believe in miracles is not a realist. – David Ben-Gurion

What do you think? Do you think miracles occur everyday? Do you believe in Angels? What about near-death experiences? What’s your explanation for those who do experience them?

If you’ve experienced one of the above, please share it. You can leave as much or as little as you wish about the experience. If you haven’t,  do you think you would share it with others if you did experience one?

About Angie Kinsey

Daughter, Sister, Wife, Mother, Auntie and Student of Life.

Posted on August 8, 2011, in Inspirational, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Well,I’ll tell you about a big one.After my divorce I discovered that my taxes hadn’t been filed for the previous year.I was old they were taken care of.On top of owing every utility 4 times the normal amount and the collection agency’s breathing down my neck because of the cold checks she wrote.The I.R.S. wanted over 7,000 to keep me out of the Penitentiary.I had nothing to pay that with.I didn’t see anyway out but suicide.I found a long straight piece of road with a bluff at the end of it,Got the little Toyota up to around 90 and headed toward the bluff.There was a hair=pen curve at the end of the stretch.Somehow I made the curve and wound up at My Church.I prayed in the parking lot for hours.I went home and told my dad about my troubles and he helped me with the I.R.S. and I got the other bills taken care of then paid him back.I know God didn’t want me to end it all.(Toyota pickups don’t handle like Corvettes).: )

  2. Angie,
    My entire life has been a miracle, from the overcoming of alcohol abuse and drug abuse, to finding my Lord and Savior, from NDE to the meeting of angels.
    I tell any and all my story (that’s why I’m writing a book) 🙂 I’m never ashamed of my stories because if they happened for me to keep a secret, then they happened to the wrong person! lol!

    Explanation for all those things? There is none and do we need an explanation? That’s like saying, “Why did God create?” He just did! 😀

    Love and hugs,
    Joni

    • Joni,
      Thanks for sharing and I can’t wait to read your book! I feel the same way about my ‘miracles’ and my entire miracle filled life.

      I’m always intrigued at some of the answers I get re: How do you explain them? I’ve never met anyone (so far) who tries to explain their own experiences. I usually get interesting answers when i ask people who haven’t had one of those experiences how they explain them. Why do I ask? I guess it comes from having more than ONE of these experiences in my life-time and trying to share it – some people looked at me as if i were crazy (and that’s ok), some people (a doctor in particular) had a far-out scientific explanation that was soooo not based in fact or even scientific research, and another doctor hugged me and said, “I know…I know what you experienced was a miracle because I had nothing to do with it…except for praying for you when all else had failed.”

      My explanation: it’s kind of like faith – you either believe it happened or you don’t. There is no in-between.
      *Hugs*
      Angie

  3. I was so inspired by this post and the seed you planted over at Seeded buzz that I pulled out an old draft, dusted it off and published it. Thank you so much!

Please Leave a Comment, Shout Out, or Constructive Criticism